Dancing out in the West Somerset area

 

West Somerset is beautiful area and has some stunning villages and panoramas. On a good day, which is most days, you can see all the way to Wales.

 

We are also very lucky to have many picturesque places to dance such as Porlock Wier (insert) and Dunster as well as some fine hostelries selling traditional local ales and ciders.

 

After getting back into shape after such a long break, within the Covid-19 rules, the West Somerset Morris commenced outside practice sessions from May through to July. Although rather stiff and rusty, the dancers soon got into their stride with leaps and bounds.

 

The  dancers with the musicians took a brave step and began dancing out  in July 2021: Washford Inn and Bicknoller Inn.

This was followed by dancing out at the Bird in Hand at Bishops Lydeard, the Carew Arms at Crowcombe, the Rest and be Thankful at Wheddon Cross and then at Burrowhayes, Luccombe. 

 

Dancing out in 2022  was full of its usual exciting events and the very busy season finished with the West Somerset Morris dancers and musicians  celebrating with the Men of Wight their 50th Anniversary.  This important event took place on the Isle of Wight over a weekend during September 2022. 

 

Following the dance season dancing and music does not stop. Practise sessions at St. Audries Village Hall continued until Easter 2024 and the new danciing out season begins on April 22nd 2024. 

 

 

 

Photos showing the diversity of venues visited are on the Gallery page.

 

 

 

 

Programme for 2024

 

 

 

May 2 Thursday 8pm Lion Inn Timberscombe

May 6 Monday Milverton Street Fair

May 9 Thursday 8pm Bicknoller Inn

May 11 Saturday Watchet for Somerset Day
May 16 Thursday 8pm Carew Arms Crowcombe

May 23 Thursday 8pm The White Horse Stogumber

May 26 Sunday Burton, Brigwater

May 30 Thursday 8pm Blue Anchor Beeches, 9pm Roadwater Valiant Soldier

 

June 1 Saturday Wessex Folk Festival, Weymouth

June 2 Sunday Wessex Folk Festival, Weymouth

 

June 6 Thursday 8pm Watchet Esplanade, 9pm Watchet Star Inn

June 8 Saturday Taunton Deane Day of Dance

June 13 Thursday 8pm Royal Oak Withypool, 9pm Royal Oak Winsford

June 20 Thursday 8pm Minehead Seafront, 9pm Minehead Harbour

June 27 Thursday 8pm Goathurst, 9pm The Globe Inn Cannington

June 29  Brymore Academy Cannington  

 

July 4 Thursday 8pm Farmers Arms Combe Florey

July 11 Thursday 8pm Lynton Valley of Rocks Hotel, 9pm Lynmouth Ancient Mariner

July 18 Thursday 8pm Dunster Yarn Market
July 25 Thursday 8pm Minehead Seafront, 9pm Minehead Harbour

July 27 Saturday Watchet Carnival Fayre


August 1 Thursday 8pm Burrowhayes

August 3 Saturday Cutcombe Fete

August 15 Thursday 8pm Watchet Esplanade, 9pm Watchet Star Inn

August 22 Thursday 8pm Home Farm St Audries
August 29 Thursday 8pm Burrowhayes

 Practice Venue

 

 

 

 

 

St Audries Village Hall

 

7.30 Thursdays

 

 

****** *****